Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

verilog-module instantiation

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi all... currently working on a project, i have a top level module (module A), with a module instantiated in it ,module B. I just have one question. When does the system know when to start running module B ? 

in module A, i have all the input to module B declared and assigned. However, at certain point of the codes, where there are supposed to have output from module B, the system just seems not running module B. When i simulated using modelsim, all the variables in module B are 'x'. 

any clue why is this happening ? or did i make any mistakes anywhere ? please advice...thanks... 

p/s: sorry if i make my question complicated...i am still new to verilog...:confused:
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Everytime I've done that, it's because I forgot to drive something into the module, it became unknown and propogated around. You said you're driving everything, but maybe worth a double-check. 

I think modelsim has a tracex capability, where you can trace an x back to where it came from. I only used it once and struggled to figure it out(I have very little modelsim experience), so maybe someone else can post more details?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

ya, confirmed that i drive all the inputs into the module. 

i thought that if we drive all the necessary inputs to the module, it should start operating and come up with an output...no ?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Is the output dependent on something that might not be initialized like a flip flop or RAM in module B?