Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16603 Discussions

Can the setup/hold time violated be removed with TimeQuest?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am a beginner in STA using TimeQuest. Now I have a basic understanding about STA using TimeQuest. I have a question which confused me: 

Take an example, if in a design, there is a path, from node "a" to node "b". Both launch and latch clocks are "clk", whose the period is 10ns. And the default setup and hold relations (10ns, 0ns) are right.  

However, in this path, the setup (or hold) time is violated, my question is whether this violated can be removed through TimeQuest like put constrains in .sdc file or any other approach?  

In my understand, it can't be removed. In this case, it means my design failed to meet time requirement and I need to modify my design, right? 

Hope anyone can help me, thanks very much.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Well through .sdc file you can guide the timequest to do correct constraining. 

Constraints like target clock frequency,false paths,multicycle paths etc if there are to be set. 

Now supposetake an example there is a path between asynchronous clock domain then its is bound to fail timing and in that case a false path needs to be set. 

Now coming to what you mentioned that point a and b are in the same clock domain with time period 10ns then provided other constraints are proper (you have taken care of false paths or multicycle paths if any) in the design then i think you need to review your RTL. 

If you are failing by some 10 Mhz then you can try some optimization switches through .qsf file. I have seen these optimization switches improving the design performance by 20 MHz also.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---