Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20638 Discussions

Remote System Update JTAG AS EPCS64 Cyclone IV

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am new to other-than JTAG configuration options for FPGA development. First, here is my setup.  

I have two images, factory and application, built with custom VHDL (state machines and concurrent processes ... not NIOS) including the ALT_REMOTE_UPDATE megafunction. This is on a Cyclone IV FPGA with EPCS64 configuration device. I want to boot the factory image and then have it load the application image.  

As for configuring an FPGA, what I've always done before is convert .sof to .jic and download ... easy. But, now I have two files. So, my first thought was the load the factory.sof in one page, the application.sof in another page, convert to .jic, download, recycle power to the device, and see if the application ever loads. But, that did not work. I programmed/verified with no errors and it boots just the factory image - never the application image. I played with some of the parameters for the ALT_REMOTE_UPDATE and feel comfortable with their current settings (based on debugging/simulating).  

Question 1. Should that work?  

After much reading, I see there is a .pof (actually a couple of different types of .pof files show up in my convert programming file) extension for AS mode. Moreover, I can't convert a .pof to .jic. But, I have come across an SFL option for JTAG to AS interface.  

Question 2. Am I headed down the right path? Should I be using the SLF function in order to use the .pof files? There seems to be a lot of documentation out there, and I want to make sure I'm on the right path.  

So, again, all I want to do in the end is boot the factory image and have it load the application image. In the future, I want to be able to DLF another application image when needed.  

Any advice/insight is much appreciated.  

Regards, 

David
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum