Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Nios II delay calculation

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi i am a beginner in nios ii. i just wanted to know how to create a delay of 5microseconds using c code for nios ii processor. i intend to assert particular values on PIO for specific time intervals which would be captured by other FPGAs. Please if anybody could help, i would be grateful.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I do something like this: 

// ****************************************************************************** // This is to allow very short delays for things like bit-banged timing // Assembler code is used to allow shorter loops // and to bypass compiler optimizations changing the timing of C code // This should generally not be called directly. A macro is included with fractional microsecond resolution void _short_delay(volatile int count) { // 'asm' notes: // Lines end with ';' // Embedded 'C' comments allowed (like /* comment here */, no double slashes) // Labels are the first non-white space, followed by a ':' // The compiler takes care of registers used when returning to standard C code asm(" ; ldw r2,0(sp) ; movi r3,-1 ; loop: ; add r2,r2,r3 ; bne r2,r3,loop ; "); } // a macro is defined in the header file for translating // delay based on count to one based on fractional micro-seconds i.e. //# define INSTRUCTIONS_PER_LOOP (3) //# define _uS(t) _short_delay((int)((t-0.3)*(ALT_CPU_FREQ/1000000/INSTRUCTIONS_PER_LOOP))  

Plain C can get optimized differently at different times. Using inline asm gets by this. The macro takes values from the BSP and adjusts for different clock frequencies.