Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Getting started - help and shortcuts needed

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm looking for help, shortcuts, and links to get started. 

My background: 

Years ago, I took a 1 day intro class by an Altera distributor. I don't remember much from the class. Everything was set up already in the lab. 

I'm an electrical engineer working in software development and test. 

I have a DE2 board and a BeMicro board. 

I'd prefer to work in Linux (Xubuntu), because that is my primary desktop. But I could setup a Windows machine for development. 

Questions: 

1. Would it be easier to work in Windows? I've seen some postings about problems getting a USB blaster working in Linux. 

2. Would it be better to start with the DE2 or the BeMicro? My goal is learning and playing. 

Thanks, 

Paul
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

1. Would it be easier to work in Windows? I've seen some postings about problems getting a USB blaster working in Linux. 

--- Quote End ---  

If you are familiar with Linux, use Linux. Getting the USB Blaster to work isn't really a "problem", it is just that it is not done automatically for you by the installer and you may need to edit a configuration file or two. 

--- Quote Start ---  

2. Would it be better to start with the DE2 or the BeMicro? My goal is learning and playing. 

--- Quote End ---  

Unfortunately, the older BeMicro SDK has an LPDDR external memory which you need a 3rd party IP core to use. This also isn't really a "problem" except it is probably a little more complication than you need starting out. 

A big perk of the BeMicro is that it is laptop (couch) friendly.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Linux and Windows both work fine. I have not tried using Quartus in Xubuntu. I have tried Ubuntu and it was a pain. Centos is painless.