Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Design working in simulation not on real device

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am trying to design my own implementation of I2C on a Cyclone II EP2C5T144 

The design works in simulation but once programmed on the chip, it acts strangely, only a few bits are transfered and they seems incorrect. 

I know that this is probably due to signal propagation timing issues, but how to solve that ? 

I am a beginner in VHDL designs, and I am open to any suggestions to improve my way of coding. 

Thanks for reading me, the files are attached. 

Ed
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There are at least two points: 

- 'H' state isn't synthesizable. I2C bus signal must be driven to 'Z' or '0' and use external pull-up resistors. Driving SCL in a push-pull manner is only O.K. if you are sure that the connected slaves don't utilize clock stretching. 

- external signals read into your state machine must be synchronized, by state-of-the-art double registered.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello FvM, 

Thanks for your answer. 

So 'H' (weak pull-up) only works in simulation ? Quartus II should warn about this. I will try with external resistors then. 

I will post the results in the next few days, thanks again for helping.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I added pull-up resistors but I had no luck with it. 

Then I ran gate level simulation and I got an error : 

# ** Error: (vsim-3601) Iteration limit reached at time 400080 ns. 

How can I solve this issue ? Any clues ? 

Ed
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

iterations limits usually occur when you have some sort of logic loop. Have you run RTL simulation?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,