Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

Using legacy MAX (EPM7128S) CPLDs

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I need to learn how to program and use an EPM7128S. At this point, I have very little knowledge of CPLDs, so I am looking for resources applicable to the EPM7128.  

I am aware that this is a very old device, so old that the Altera web site does not seem to have any detailed information on the device. 

Similarly, I believe that Altera did produce an EPM7128 development board which appears to be obsolete. 

Does anyone know whether it is possible to find an EPM7128 development board aywhere - either new or used? 

Failing that, does anyone have any device specific tutorial information that they could share please? 

regards 

Dave
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Dave: 

So there's a couple of issues with using older devices, One what version of Quartus supports it. (This seems to be Quartus 13.0 SP1 for the MAX7000 series). And two, how long will the part be available. 

A CPLD today is very similar to an FPGA, but much smaller. Unless you have a board already in production that has the part already in it, and you just need a minor tweak, than I would avoid this family, and look at the MAX V series. (Not the MAX3000A family is also last supported in Quartus 13.0 SP1, so avoid it as well) 

If you have the original design files, the rest of the design process. If they are schematic files. And you understand them, it's probably easiest to stay that route. Otherwise I recommend you learn Verilog or VHDL, and play with Quartus synthesis. 

I'm sure you can find a grey market dev board somewhere, but the question becomes why? If you have a board already already, that you are tweaking, tweak it in that system. Otherwise, if you are looking to just learn, use a newer product that is supported. 

I found a grey market  

Pete
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II