Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20687 Discussions

How to convert On Chip memory to SRAM .??

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All, 

I am a newbie to Altera FPGA. I am using Altera FPGA for a class project. 

I am using a custom processor ( not NIOS) and I am as of now using Onchip memory for instruction and data. I now need to use SRAM instead of onchip memory.  

I am using DE4 development board with Stratix 4 FPGA. As of now I am instantiating "altsyncram" for both instruction and data and initialising them using .mif file.  

I have no idea how to migrate this to SRAM. I have generated SRAM controller using Megawizard and I am struck as how to initalise SRAM.?? If you could give any links of project code where SRAM controller is used it would be helpful. 

Thanks,
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

If the SRAM is an external component then you can't initialize it with a .mif file and you will need a system to fill it up. A very common way is to use a small on-chip memory that the CPU can boot on. This memory holds a bootloader, that will read the application code from an external source (a flash memory for example) and copy it into the SRAM. Then it sets the CPU to jump to the application.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you ... If I could get some example design as how to interface SRAM to a custom project it would be helpful. 

I am not able to understant how to access avalon bus and from there to SRAM controller.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

If you aren't using SOPC builder or QSys to connect your CPU to memories or components, it may be easier to avoid using the controller generated by the megawizard and make it yourself. Accessing an SRAM is pretty easy, just set the address and read signal, or address, data and write signal, and wait for the correct timing.