Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Generic driver to rest of the system communication - advice needed?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all,  

First - I am new to VHDL but: 

I have built a state machine that communicates with FT245 USB chip using parallel protocol (it is very simple - 8-bit data bus, read and write strobes and 2 flags from the FT245 to indicate if its internal FIFO has space - to write or has data - to read). I have tested it and it sends data to PC fine and I can also read received byte in VHDL.  

My next step is to make this code more generic so I can re-use it in my other projects and to really be able to send data to PC and receive the data into some controller code to make some action.  

As such I was thinking for my FT245 driver to have an input byte STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(7 DOWNTO 0) that module user would send byte which has to be send to FT245 and consequently to the PC and the same 1 byte as output byte. Since I will be utilizing FIFO from the FT245 chip, I would pass state of its flags to the module user, so it can be checked if read or write is possible.  

For writing, user would have to assert write_request flag to '1' and then my FT245 module would go into the writing part of the state machine (of course - flag that FIFO for writing from FT245 would have to be in proper state). Next write request can happen only if write_request flag is put back to '0' and then back to '1'.  

For reading, user would have to assert read_request flag to '1' and then my data_ready flag would drop from '1' to '0'. On next clock cycle, data will be read (lasts several clock cycles @ 50Mhz FPGA clock) and then data_ready flag will be asserted back to '1'.  

In case both write_request and read_request are asserted on same clock edge, write would take precedence.