Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Fast Synthesis & Analysis QUARTUS II

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear all, 

I am new to Quartus II 13.1 , when I implement my logic(considerable big custom IP) tool is taking about 15 hours to complete Analysis & Synthesis part. 

I enabled i. Smart Compile 

ii. Use all Available Processors 

iii. almost all Recommended Suggestions by tool 

I am unable to find Rapid Recompile Option, and I unable to use Incremental Compilation Options(unable to explore what that options will exactly do) in Settings->Compilation Options -> Incremental Compilation 

Please suggest me Some recommended Options Which may reduce my Compilation Time 

Thanks in Advance, 

Regards, 

Rohith
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Rohith, 

here some tips : 

1. Is your custom IP very complex one ? Especially, does it use a lot of registers and/or rams ? 

2. Your device must be a too little one for your IP. Try to change the device, and take a bigger FPGA and then launch the Synthesis. 

3. Is your computer's ram enough for Quartus II tools ? 

regards,
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Long synthesis times are usually because you have some ram (sounds like a lot of ram) being implemented in logic. Does your design use a lot of ram? how are you implementing it? 

I had a complex design for a stratix 4 take 40 mins for synthesis, and that is the longest synth I have ever seen. If I ever see more than this, then I know there is a problem in the design.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Long synthesis times are usually because you have some ram (sounds like a lot of ram) being implemented in logic. Does your design use a lot of ram? how are you implementing it?