Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Program Counter using VHDL for Altera DE2 Board.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi guys noob here, first post. I need to design a program counter to satisfy the following schematic.  

https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=8350  

and here is my code so far. Now I'm pretty sure this is wrong. But I don't even know how to test this yet using QuartusII, hoping my TA will explain it this Monday. Would someone with more experience take a look and help me figure this out, in particular I am sure I implemented the inc (increment) condition wrong, that is, if inc is high then I should start the count from the output.  

LIBRARY ieee; USE ieee.std_logic_1164.ALL; USE ieee.std_logic_arith.ALL; USE ieee.std_logic_unsigned.ALL; ENTITY pc IS PORT( clr : IN STD_LOGIC; clk : IN STD_LOGIC; ld : IN STD_LOGIC; inc : IN STD_LOGIC; d : IN STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(31 DOWNTO 0); q : INOUT STD_LOGIC_VECTOR(31 DOWNTO 0)); END pc; ARCHITECTURE description OF pc IS -- you fill in what goes here!!! SIGNAL Count:STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (31 DOWNTO 0) ; BEGIN PROCESS (clk,clr,ld,inc) BEGIN IF clr='0' THEN Count<="00000000000000000000000000000000"; ELSIF inc='1' THEN Count<=q; ELSIF (clk'EVENT AND clk = '1') THEN IF ld='1' THEN Count<=Count+4; ELSE Count<=Count; END IF; END IF; END PROCESS; q<=Count; END description;  

any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advanced.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Just one minor adjustment: 

Inc shouldnt be asynchronous. 

Also you shouldnt have a situation where an async event holds the value of q. This will cause a latch.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hopefully, your instructor will show you have to create a VHDL testbench and use modelsim.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II