Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16558 Discussions

Neuron implementation in VHDL (code attached)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all.I am just learning VHDL and as an exercise, I am trying to model a neuron in VHDL (attached the code). The neuron has three inputs, three weights and one threshold value (as entity inputs).The neuron is selected through the enableIN and if it is set as '1' ,the neuron reads the inputs, weights and threshold.After that, I created three process for calculate a product between inputs and weights, a sum of these products and at the end a sigmoid function of that summation.What I would like to know is if I wrote these data-flow and behavioral models inside the entity as It is expected to work.The objective is the output having the result of the function when enableOUT is set '1'.I appreciate any help, thanks.

0 Kudos
27 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There are several problems with this code: 

1. The first part of the code isnt in a process. 

2. the calculation parts are not synchronous (this mens they will work very slowly) 

3. There is no output 

This code is clearly incomplete. I suggest you complete it, write a testbench and see if it functions correctly.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I also suggest removing the std_logidc_arith and std_logic_unsigned packges as you're using the fixed pckage. They are non stndard libraries and I forsee all sorts of problems if you continue with them.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you very much for your corrections. 

Could you suggest me how to guarantee that all process are synchronous? 

maybe if I test the rise edge in the input CLK for all process? 

Thanks,
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes. Using the rising edge of clk is the way synchronous design works

0 Kudos