Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16598 Discussions

Signal Tap II display signals?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, I am new to Quartus II and using SignalTap II.  

How can I set up SignalTap to just capture and display the signals between two times or values? For example, in my code I have an integer counting from 0 to 33 and I would like SignalTap to show me only the signals between those values in one window. Many thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

signaltap much be connected to a clock, and you can set it to trigger on a certain condition. Could you not just set it to wait until the counter is 0? if it doesnt capture enough time you will need to re-compile with a larger window.  

You can also set up multiple cores inside the design and have them trigger at different points. 

If you need some more complicated trigger conditions, it is much easier to generate the trigger logic in HDL, use syn_keep and noprune attributes on them and then connect them into signaltap.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I don't see where are these options tho. If for example I just want to capture the first 100 clock cycles in the window, how do I do this? Thanks

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There should be 3 trigger options: instant, on trigger, or continuous on trigger. 

Instant takes a snapshot now 

trigger waits until the trigger occurs, then downloads the buffer 

continuous on trigger will wait until the trigger condition occurs, download the buffer, then wait for the trigger to occur again. If you set no trigger conditions, it will just keep downloading the buffer (its not a continuous play function, you will miss the data in between the downloads). 

You cant just download a specified number of clocks, you need to download the entire buffer.