Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

problem running modelsim on ubuntu 14.04

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all -- I'm just posting this here in case it is useful to others (and hoping that someone smarter will have an elegant solution or more information). I am generally good at googling for solutions to this stuff but information is sparse on this one. 

Yesterday I went with the masses and upgraded a new machine to ubuntu 14.04. Of the tools i'm trying to learn (I'm new to this world), the only obvious thing that broke was modelsim (that is the only thing I noticed). The latest matlab, quartus, dsp-builder and everything else I'm counting on *seem* to be working fine. 

It turns out that others seem to have experienced it in other linux versions in recent months and it is related to a libfreetype6 version issue (see here: https://communities.mentor.com/mgcx/thread/13821?tstart=0).  

Launching vsim would cause a segmentation fault.  

I forced the install of an older version of libfreetype and now modelsim launches fine but I am unsure of the state of anything else on this machine. I did not use the exact solution recommended in that thread above but may get to the point of doing that now that I understand at least a bit about the problem. 

If anyone has a cleaner solution other than sticking with ubuntu 12.04/13.1, please let me know. The compatibility of the various tools vs. operating system is a bit messy (especially when you span into SoCKit territory with yocto where Ubuntu is recommended even though not supported officially by Quartus), but that is another story...  

Thanks ! 

Lance
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It is a shameless plug for my own work but there is a fairly painless method I created a blog post to describe here: