Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

Can we flash a program in Stratix IV FPGA kit using the 30 day trial web edition

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello Guys, 

I am a newbie to quartus II software and FPGA kits, I downloaded the 30 day trial web edition 13.1 quartus software. It came around 18GB. 

The thing is I have made a schematic of my circuit and when I try to flash it on a stratix IV kit, the quartus software is not detecting the kit at all. 

Also when I open the Quartus II software it opens a dialog box stating that "Device programming files not supported". 

Basically I want to know that can I flash my program in Stratix IV kit using the 30 day trial period or if it works only in the licensed version of the software. 

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thank you.
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The web edition doesn't support Stratix. It doesn't support them by not generating programming files. You'll need a subscription edition to put your device to use. 

Regards, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

The web edition doesn't support Stratix. It doesn't support them by not generating programming files. You'll need a subscription edition to put your device to use. 

Regards, 

Alex 

--- Quote End ---  

So if I use the 30 day trial of subscription edition, will I be able to flash my program on the Stratix IV FPGA kit? 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes, as long as you don't use any IP that also requires a license (such as a Nios II/s or /f CPU)

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Didn't you get a DVD with the kit? If yes it should include a subscription edition of Quartus, with a one-year license.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II