FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6335 Discussions

Cyclone V hard memory controller clarification

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm relatively new to this stuff but have spent a few weeks getting to the point of understanding how fast I can stream data into DDR3 sdram on a cyclone V reference design (bemicro-CV). I started with the basic configuration from Dave (posted elsewhere on these forums) (dwh@ caltech) -- and struggled through getting to the point where i got things working with the custom logic I added to it (the example project was a great way to get going). 

I found that the memory controller couldn't seem to keep up above the 80% bandwidth efficiency point( BMCV has 16 bit bus, 333 MHz DDR, so ~ 10.6G =max ignoring refreshes and other overhead). 

Does this KB article explain that? I just want confirmation that this is indeed the case.  

http://www.altera.com/support/kdb/solutions/rd10302012_952.html 

I am using two ports on the memory controller MPFE (one hooked to JTAG per Dave's project, the other to my custom logic that basically stuffs a timer value into things using a wide avalon MM interface with long bursts). I tried long and short bursts and the point of failure was always right at about the same point. After some digging, I found this note about the hard IP and am pretty sure this explains the problem. 

I believe I could push a little further by trying to load both ports, but for my design I'm not sure it is worth it, I more or less want to just understand the limitations at this point. 

Thanks for any input / confirmation! 

Lance
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Not sure if anybody will have that specific information for you, but it is easy enough to test your hypothesis by putting SignalTap on the Avalon-MM ports and look at how the transactions are getting broken up.