Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20645 Discussions

ROS (Robot Operating System) with an FPGA board (hobby level)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All, 

I'm new to programming and have just started wtih AVR. I'd like to later venture into FPGA but will have a lot of planning to do on exactly what type of system requirements i will need. 

I'd like to focus on Robot Vision first, and then bipedal balance later. 

ROS looks like it has good support for bringing sensor data together, ROS runs on LINUX. From my understanding, FPGA boards are not single board computers, but can be interfaced with PC's through the PCIe slot. 

It looks like FPGA boards that have the PCIe capability are over $1000, that's definitely not for a beginner. Could anyone suggest an appropriate way for me to use ROS on Linux, and have a bunch of sensors connected to an FPGA board, and have them all talking to each other? I really wish makermedia would come out with Make: FPGA programming. because Make: AVR programming is turning out to be quite helpful. 

Thanks in advance!
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

As far as I know ROS is good for controlling robot motion, I don't know about sensors. 

At what speed do you want data input. A UART interface might be sufficient for some. Althoug I don't know if ROS 

supports input in that way. 

Good luck on the vision thing, in my experience it is hard to get right under changing circumstances.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I'm new to programming and have just started wtih AVR. I'd like to later venture into FPGA but will have a lot of planning to do on exactly what type of system requirements i will need. 

--- Quote End ---  

FPGAs are a lot more complicated than an AVR :) 

--- Quote Start ---  

I'd like to focus on Robot Vision first, and then bipedal balance later. 

--- Quote End ---  

Do you have any of this working with an AVR yet?