Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Interval Timer Core Interrupt for Nios II

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have seen many examples of using PIO cores to generate interrupts...say for button presses, and I have a grasp on those, but I am looking for a clear example of generating an interrupt using the timer core. My hardware is setup to generate a 1ms interval clock (see image attached for the setup) to IRQ 1 (high value interrupt) as I want to perform a specific task every millisecond (for example take a reading from an ADC), but I cannot grasp how to properly make this happen in the C code (I'm new to C programming not to hardware design...so it's the programming that I'm having issue with). If someone could help out a bit with a clear and small example of this that would be helpful, or point me in a direction where there is an example. Thanks, Jason

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Initialize the interrupt in your main application code this way: 

// register the timer irq to be serviced by handle_timer_interrupt() function alt_irq_register(SYS_CLK_TIMER_IRQ, 0, handle_timer_interrupt); // activate the time IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_TIMER_CONTROL(SYS_CLK_TIMER_BASE, ALTERA_AVALON_TIMER_CONTROL_CONT_MSK | ALTERA_AVALON_TIMER_CONTROL_START_MSK | ALTERA_AVALON_TIMER_CONTROL_ITO_MSK);  

This is the template for the interrupt service function: 

void handle_timer_interrupt(void*p, alt_u32 param) { // clear irq status in order to prevent retriggering IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_TIMER_STATUS(SYS_CLK_TIMER_BASE, 0); // your isr code here // .... }
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for the reply, seems very straight forward.