Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20703 Discussions

simple graphics gui

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello: 

I am just getting started with the MAX10 FPGA. I would like to add some simple gui graphics capability, using a small 4 inch color "dumb" touch lcd to display messages & pushbuttons. (NO cascading windows, scroll bars, pop ups or anything like that). Is this well-supported by the MAX10? I'm looking for some examples & the graphics tools & any core modules needed to create such an app.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Altera has something called the design store that has example design examples that utilize the LCD and push button interface with MAX10. 

https://cloud.altera.com/devstore/platform/ 

Look up "LCD"... the most basic one is "Hello World LCD" for the MAX10 Dev Kit, and there is an ACD/LCD Controller Example design for the MAX 10 Eval Kit and Dev Kit - this one has a more interactive menu with the push button and LCD. 

Do you plan on using the touch LCD itself as a control?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you for the tip...however those examples are for 5x7 dot char displays...I'm needing to use a color graphics lcd to show a message ("hello world") perhaps using italics with a nice order. 

Is this readily supported by the MAX10? 

--- Quote Start ---  

Altera has something called the design store that has example design examples that utilize the LCD and push button interface with MAX10. 

https://cloud.altera.com/devstore/platform/ 

Look up "LCD"... the most basic one is "Hello World LCD" for the MAX10 Dev Kit, and there is an ACD/LCD Controller Example design for the MAX 10 Eval Kit and Dev Kit - this one has a more interactive menu with the push button and LCD. 

Do you plan on using the touch LCD itself as a control? 

--- Quote End ---  

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This is more of a software issue than a MAX10 one.