Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16594 Discussions

Need Up To Date Tutorial on Pin Assignments with Schematic Entry

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to Altera Schematic entry tools for their FPGA's. I used Xilinx tools several years ago, but decided to give Altera a try. Anyhow, I downloaded the tutorial "tut_quartus_intro_schem.pdf" which does a fair, but out of date, job of explaining how to do a project. When I get to the pin assignment editor section, nothing works and nothing in the tutorial is compatible with Quartus II v15.0 that I just downloaded. There isn't a specific version given in the tutorial, but it was copyright 2008 which tells me that its out of date. 

Is there a more current tutorial that is more appropriate to v15.0? 

I searched and found a blurb that said "to assign the pin numbers, right click the pin and select 'assignment editor'", but of course, that isn't one of the options. I can go into the assignment editor directly, but there doesn't seem to be a logical way to assign the pins.  

My goal here is to simply bring one of the pins on my netlist to a physical pin on the outside of the chip. 

The old tutorial that I have been using had me draw out an XOR gate using AND-OR-INVERT gates. That compiles, but I'm stuck on the pin assignments. 

Anybody know where a more up to date tutorial, or just one that explains the pin assignments better? 

Thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

While I do not use graphical input, I'd suggest to have a look into the QII help, which seems to be quite explainatory on "schematic pin assignment" :-)

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---