Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

Problems with the Quartus II software

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone, 

I am a student at the Stenden University in Holland. I am part of a larger group of students who are working with the Altera DE2-115 (Cyclone IV) board's. 

We have been experiencing a lot of problem's whit the Altera Quartus II software on multiple versions and operating systems. A majority of the group uses a Microsoft Windows 7/8.1 operating system and one member of our group (myself) is using a Fedora 21 system. All systems are 64 bit (x64). 

Here follows a list of problems that we have been experiencing: 

Quartus II web edition version 10.1 

Windows 7/8.1 

- Some of the installations went fine while other installations crashed. 

- From the group of students who got the software installed, some could not start the software. The Quartus process went in an unending loop, consuming a lot of CPU power in the process. 

Fedora  

- the built-in unpacker crashed while unpacking the software. Error: "conf.d", line 1: no element found 

altera_installer/bin/altera_installer_gui: sysbol lookup error: /lib/libXfixes.so.3: undefined symbol: _XGetRequest. 

Quartus II web edition version 13.1 

Windows 7/8.1 

- Students where plagued with the "Downloading ELF process failed" error message while following the "My first niosii" tutorial. 

Fedora 

- The "My first niosii" tutorial worked, but the Nios Eclipse environment was too unstable (the environment caused the system to freeze). 

Quartus II web edition version 14.1 

Windows 7/8.1 and Fedora 

- "Downloading ELF process failed" error message while following the "My first niosii" tutorial 

Quartus II web edition version 15.0 

Windows 7/8.1 

- Eclipse was very unstable 

Fedora 

- Eclipse was stable for a couple of days but became unstable after a while (same problem as with version 13.1) 

My questions: