Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

LE and memory blocks in a cyclone

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm quite new in the world of the FPGA, indeed, I'm an engineer student in end-of-studies internship which is about using a FPGA. 

Well, I'm telling you that because I guess that you will think my question is a question of newbies :oops:. 

When I start studying FPGA, my teachers said that the most important characteristic of these devices is the number of Logic Elements. 

But during my internship, I did some architectures using IP and then, after a full compilation, I realized that the characteristic which constrained me the most is the "total memories bits". 

After few research, I understood this characteristic was the representation of the memories blocks (like M9K).  

Here come my question, what is the constitution of a memory block? is-it a very important parameter in a fpga? 

Example:  

My FPGA have 600K memories bits and 22K LE. 

After Quartus compilation, I realize that my architecture need 500K memories bits but only 2K LE. 

can i use le instead of memories block for 1 or 2 ip?  

I hope that I explained my problem clearly, 

Thank in advance, 

Clément.
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I find memory bits not very useful, unless building really big RAMs and you might approach full efficiency. For example, if the FPGA has M20K blocks, which can be 20k1, 10kx2, etc. down to 512x40(look at data sheet for specifics), then if I build a FIFO that only needs a 256x8 size, the rest of the RAM is wasted. Because of this you usually run out of RAM blocks before actual bits.