Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

ID 12006 Undefined entity

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi just a quick run down of what im trying to achieve write a value to my verilog code and read back the double value (input*2) gonna expand later on...(im new to FPGA) 

ive greated a Qsys module as described here: 

ftp://ftp.altera.com/up/pub/altera_material/12.0/tutorials/making_qsys_components.pdf 

the plan is the write/read a value from NIOS (hello_world) template to the new component(modified to return 2* input value, and removed the HEX output). 

1.) Qsys module created (ok) 

2.) Qsys generate HDL (ok) 

3.) Nios project (debug via JTAG) (ok)  

-c code function returns same value as written 

void MyReadWrite(void) { static int writeval = 22; int readval = 0; IOWR(REG16_AVALON_INTERFACE_0_BASE,0,writeval); readval = IORD(REG16_AVALON_INTERFACE_0_BASE,0); printf("\n Reg16 Test WriteVal: %d, ReadBackVal: %d",writeval,readval); writeval++; }  

reply in NIOS concole: 

Reg16 Test WriteVal: 22, ReadBackVal: 22 

(i think i just write/read to memory somewhere without entering the verilog code. i havent compiled the FPGA code(Quartus project to get a .sof file) yet, at least i dont think so not 100% sure of whats include when i launch a debug session from eclipse) 

4.) created a Quartus project (ok) 

containing the following files: 

-nios_setup.qip 

-MyReg16_avalon_interface.v 

-MyReg.v 

-top.v 

-platform/alt_pll/alt_pll.qip 

top.sdc 

5.) when i try to compile the project i get the following error " Id 12006 instance "comb_4" instantiates undefined entity "nios_setup" (Guess i need to add something to my top.v file just dont know how/what t o add.) 

my top.v is a from the ADC demo in the design store.