Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers

custom i2c

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Just after a quick/general comment as I am a bit new to HDL. 

I was struggling to get much over 30kHz on my i2c connection because my code on my Nios II processor was not handling the interrupts quick enough (1 interrupt per byte). I was holding the clock line down while it waiting for the ISR to be serviced, but the slave did not like this.  

So, knowing the read and write always consists of 1 byte address and 2 bytes read or write, I modified the i2c HDL to do it all and just have an interrupt on the final stop. It seems to work fine at 900kHz now but the signals look like shark fins. I do sample rather than edge detect to read the data. 

Is this how I should address the issue? Does anyone do this in practice? 

regards, 

Graham
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Depending on your scope and probe bandwidths and how you are probing, you might not be seeing the true signal. Get an expert to set up your scope.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have a cheap scope - Rigol DS105E that is rated at 50Mhz with 100Mhz rated probes. Got some rather long wires soldered onto the pads...(maybe that is the issue?) 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=12121&stc=1 http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=12122&stc=1
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I don't think that this is a problem with your meassuring method. Otherwise the falling edges would also look like "shark fins". 

But your Outputs seem to be too weak to pull up the lines fast enough. Normally you have pull-up resistors on your lines. Which value do they have? Are there any capacitors connected to the lines? 

Which drive strength and slew-rate did you apply to the outputs?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Steffen, 

I'm using "weak pull up resistors"...