FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

MAX V Board test system: No USB Blaster detected

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am brand new to Altera stuff so I got the Max V dev kit and I am going to start learning but I have a snag here. It says No USB Blaster detected, even though I installed the driver and its right there in the device manager. Here's pic 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=12146&stc=1  

Also is there a really really basic 'getting started guide for max V', like how to open a max V dev kit example design in Quartus and compile/upload it to the max V dev kit (with links to the example code and explain which version of Quartus because there are MANY)?  

The Altera ecosystem is very daunting for a person coming from TI and Xilinx. I need baby steps.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi nickw1881, 

What version of Windows are you using? Judging by the theme it's 8 or 10. I had similar issues before, where device appeared to be installed properly but would not be detected. Things to try: 

1. Install the very latest blaster drivers from Altera, always reboot after driver installation. 

2. Restart JTAG server service. 

3. Run the board test utility as admin, you should also use admin to install any drivers or utilities. 

4. run the board test utility in Win 7/8.1 compatibility mode. 

I had similar dev kit running fine on Win 8.1 so it must just be a driver/Windows privileges issue.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I am brand new to Altera stuff so I got the Max V dev kit and I am going to start learning but I have a snag here. It says No USB Blaster detected, even though I installed the driver and its right there in the device manager. Here's pic 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=12146&stc=1