Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20642 Discussions

CycloneIV-E: Heating issue

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hey Members, 

it's my first post here and I'm also pretty new in FPGA-PCB-Design ;) 

I designed a 10-Layer CycloneIV-PCB with 5 different switching regulators (LT3690). I use the CycloneIV EP4CE15F23C7N.  

My Powersupply chain for the FPGA is as follows: 

24V_in 

=> LT3690 for 1.2V (VCCINT) 

=> LT3690 for 3.3V (VCCIO+µC) 

=> Out of 3.3V with LDOs: 

=> 2.5V (VCCIO) 

=> 1.8V (VCCIO) 

The other 3 switching regulators (LT3690) are used for powering up a sensor board and for two TECs. 

I use a passive heatsink with 24.5°C/W. 

First I used the Early Power Estimator (excel sheet) from Altera and with that design+heatsink it calculates around 28°C chip temperature @ambient temperature=24°C 

I have a strong heating issue with that FPGA board :/ 

I download a test design with only an ethernet core installed (25% FPGA usage) and my results are frustrating: 

With ambient temperature of 24°C my FPGA is heating-up to 33°C. 

So even with this small design my FPGA has a deltaT of +9°C :/ 

After this result I disabled all switching regulators and power up the FPGA with my lab power supply. 

So 1.2V and 3.3V (=> 2.5V, 1.8V) are now comming from a clean power supply and the result is good: 

With ambient temperature of 24°C my FPGA is heating-up to only 27.5°C. This fits very good to the estimation from the excel-sheet. 

So disabling the switching regulators reduce the deltaT to +3.5°C. 

Now my question: 

I assume now that the switching noise of my 5 switching regulators are the reason for that strong heating. Could that be? Did you ever had the issue that with high switching/ac-noise your FPGA is getting too hot? 

I missed to put some PI/LC-Filters after and before the switching regulators and it looks like that the combination of 5 equal switching regulators produce a lot of noise... 

Thanks so far!