Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

How to connect qsys clock output pin from PLL (C0 and C1) to two physical pin in MAX1

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I'm new to fpga. I got a BeMicro MAX10 and I'm using qsys and the eclipse tool to make a nios2 system. I'm using quartus ii web v15.02. I got a system that works: nios2, ocram, leds, timer. I just turn one or two LEDs in a pattern and move to the next after a second. As I said this works fine.  

Now I want to use the SDRAM on the board instead of the ocram. I read AN730 about booting options for nios in max10 devices so I'm using option 2 (UFM and external SDRAM). I made the nios2 system in qsys following a sample project from altera. I used the example SDRAM settings which was for the kit I'm using.  

Needless to say... it doesn't work. 

This thing has so many steps that it is very likely I messed up one or more so I figure I'll start by checking if C0 and C1 from the PLL are there and in the correct phase. So I have to connect the C0 to an external pin and internal to the rest of the system and C1 to the SDRAM clock pin and another external pin (I may have C0 and C1 backwards, sorry). But when I tried to assign the same output to two different pins in the pin planner it complaints that it is already used. 

Any help, comments or insights on how to proceed are welcome. 

Thanks
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Use a clock bridge. You input the pll clock and output an exported clock.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes, a clock bridge is used to bring a PLL generated clock out.