Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

Some basic questions about DDR

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I am studying the RTL based example code of LPDDR2 demonstration of Cyclone V 5CGXFC5C6 development kit from Terasic.  

Basically, this demo code utilizes a LPDDR2 IP, and then write in-->read back all address to verify the whole memory, according to the statement of the user manual.  

The LPDDR2 is a 16M x 32 x 8banks chip, with 32 DQ signals all connected to FPGA, as listed in the figure "lpddr2 circuit" in attachment;  

The code has also been attached in case you are interested, with "(top level)c5g_lpddr2_rtl_test.v", and "(test part)avalon_bus_rw_test.v";  

the diagram of the whole project is illustrated using the figure "project structure",  

I also made a figure "signal connection" to illustarte the signal connections internal and external for the ease to understand, and save your time; 

The settings of the LPDDR2 IP is listed in figure "ip setting_1","ip setting_2" and "ip setting_3"; 

I have spent several weeks on the code and reading a lot of datasheets, still with some confusions. 

(1) The UNIPHY-Mem interface, DQ, is 32-bit, and in 'IP Setting_1', the Avalon-MM interface is set as "Full Rate", why generated IP data width of Avalon is still 32-bit? 

output wire [31:0] avl_rdata_0, // .readdata 

input wire [31:0] avl_wdata_0, // .writedata 

They should be 64-bit, right? Since UNIPHY-Mem is 32 bit with DDR, AFI (only can be single data rate) with Full rate should be 64-bit. Right? What am I missing? 

(2) In 'IP Setting_2', it sets the 'Mode Register 1--Burst length' to 8; here should be UNIPHY-Mem interface;  

In 'IP Setting_3', it sets 'Maxium Avalon-MM Burst length' to 4; here should be external-controller interface; 

In the code, it sets Avl_size to 1;