Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

New to FPGA programming - Please Help

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all, 

I am new to both this forum and FPGA with OpenCL - I have some questions I hope someone can help me with. 

I have intelFPGA_pro v 16.1 installed in Ubuntu Linux OS and am just trying to test out the system by running the 'aocl diagnose' operation. However, when I run it I get the following output: 

"cannot find board_env.xml in /board/nalla_pcie" 

I checked in /hdl/board/nalla_pcie and 'board_env.xml' is located in this directory. Can anyone tell me what is wrong? I am looking forward to getting some interesting work done :) 

Thank you in advance for any help/hints.
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Your environmental variables should look like this: 

export ALTERAOCLSDKROOT="*quartus_install_folder*/hld" export AOCL_BOARD_PACKAGE_ROOT="$ALTERAOCLSDKROOT/board/nalla_pcie" 

Since aoc is looking for the BSP in "/board/nalla_pcie", it means "ALTERAOCLSDKROOT" is not pointing to anything and hence, AOCL_BOARD_PACKAGE_ROOT is pointing to "/board/nalla_pcie".
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Your environmental variables should look like this: 

export ALTERAOCLSDKROOT="*quartus_install_folder*/hld" export AOCL_BOARD_PACKAGE_ROOT="$ALTERAOCLSDKROOT/board/nalla_pcie" 

Since aoc is looking for the BSP in "/board/nalla_pcie", it means "ALTERAOCLSDKROOT" is not pointing to anything and hence, AOCL_BOARD_PACKAGE_ROOT is pointing to "/board/nalla_pcie". 

--- Quote End ---  

Thank you, for replying HRZ. I made the changes you suggested and 'aocl diagnose' executes further however it now has another issue :cry: - probably related to the same issue as the original issue.