Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20642 Discussions

Max 10, how to "connect" to my on-chip-memory? which controller to use.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi guys, I'm new in the fpga business, I have Max 10 for now. 

I'm trying to understant how can I connect to my memory ,I know that I have only 64MB sdram. 

Now, I read a lot online, in the ip catalog I saw sram controller and ssram controller , online I saw using of altsyncram exc,and Im lost, how do I know which one to use?  

Thanks, a lot for your help, 

Barak.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

If you're looking to access the SDRAM on the FPGA board, then you need to use the SDRAM/DDR controller IPs that come in Quartus that are targeted for that specific FPGA and memory chip aka Micron, etc. Make sure to choose the right type of memory controller - SDRAM or DDR or DDR2 and while configuring the controller, you need to choose the correct memory part type (DIMM/SODIMM/component), manufacturer (Micron/etc), part number and timing parameters. Once you have configured the memory controller core, you can generate and insert it into your project, connect it to the required interface aka Processor, etc, and generate your design.  

If you're looking to access the on-chip RAM, then you need to use the on-chip RAM controller and configure it for the memory type (BRAM/DRAM), size and other parameters.  

-Abr
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You are right I confused between on-chip memory and sdram. 

In my QUARTUS2 in the ip catalog i have ssram and sram controllers (and ufm) but not sdram controller. 

further more, I cant find out which sdram I got, in all data sheets for my fpga (de10-lite terasic) I sees only 64MB sdram,in the max10 datasheets I see ddr3, ddr2 but I dont know what I got . 

my fpga num is :10M50DAF484C7G 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,