FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6356 Discussions

Accessing DDR-Ram from FPGA on DE1-SoC

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I’m trying to write data directly to the HPS DDR3-RAM on my eval board. 

Problem is, I’m quite new to FPGAs in general and so after a bit of research I ended up with the following idea: 

I thought of use this: https://www.altera.com/support/support-resources/design-examples/intellectual-property/embedded/nios-ii/exm-avalon-mm.html 

Avalon MM Template to address the HPS (f2h_sdram0 Avalon-MM Write-Only 32) 

I wrote a Verilog file containing a state machine to fill the required registers of the template according to its manual. 

From what I see the master_crtl_done flag gets set, but I can’t see the written data. 

To test my data transfer I tried to write some data to the ram which can be seen from the Linux system running on the SoC, using memtool I wanted to see if there is a change. But it seems this doesn’t work (no changes in memory) 

Can someone tell me if this is a valid way to write to the memory or if my whole idea is wrong (as said I’m quite new to this only a few weeks in). 

Or if I just messed something up. 

Thanks in advance!