Embedded Intel® Core™ Processors
Communicate Intel® Core™ Hardware, Software, Firmware, Graphics Concerns

Licensing issues with MCS-96 family

RStru1
Beginner

My name is Rastislav Struharik and I work as an associate professor at the University of Novi Sad. My group works in the area of FPGA IP core design and we have so far developed a range of IP cores. We are now considering a development of IP core for the Intel's MCS-96 microcontroller family. Before we start I would like to enquire is the MCS-96 architecture royalty free? Can we develop an IP core and potentially sell it to the customers without the need to pay the Intel, as original developer of the MCS-96, any fees? I know that, for instance Intel's MCS-51 family is royalty free. Is this also the case for the MCS-96 family? This is very important to us, because we wouldn't want to get into any legal problems with Intel regarding this issue.

I am not sure if I have asked this question at the right place, but I was unable to find any contact on the Intel's website that would be more appropriate to ask this question. If you are unable to answer my question, plase can you point me to the person that is better suited to handle it?

Thank you very much,

Rastislav Struharik
0 Kudos
5 Replies
FMcNu1
Valued Contributor I

Hello Rastislav,

Welcome to the Intel® Embedded Community.

I will try to find someone who can answer your question.

However, in the meantime I want to make you aware that the MCS-96 family is discontinued by Intel. Anything you were to do with that product is very likely to be without any technical support from Intel.

Thanks

Felix

J. Felix McNulty

Community Moderator (Intel contractor)

0 Kudos
RStru1
Beginner

Felix,