Embedded Intel Atom® Processors
Technological Conversations about Intel Atom® Hardware, Software, Firmware, Graphics
1154 Discussions

EMGD install process for Timesys Fedora 14

DDard1
Beginner

I have successfully installed EMGD on Timesys Fedora 14 using the CED in windows method. I am a linux novice and really don't understand why all of the steps in the install instructions (7.3.3 in the user's guide) are neccessary. Can comeone please explain this? It seems to me if Timesys is Intels spin on Fedora to officially support EMGD drivers - why do we need to recompile the kernel headers and the drivers? What specifically does the install process do? Why can't we just copy the xorg.conf file and use it with the EMGD driver "as is" in Timesys?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Kirk_B_Intel
Employee

Timesys is not an Intel distibution, it is just one we have directly supported with the driver. It does not have the special DRM changes we need for the graphics driver to operate built in "out of the box". The EMGD graphics driver is not open source due to some third party "stuff" (I.P.) in the code that prevents us from being able to open source it. As such our tweaks to the kernel are not acceptable to the Linux Community to be "up streamed". We therefore need to have people get a distro that we support, and tweak it so we can operate with ALL our features we need for best performance. THAT code IS Open Source and the source is included with the driver release if you wish to look or use it.

It is not an ideal solution but generally our OEMS just need to do it once then build their platforms with the modified distro.

There is hope this situation will improve in the future (as it has improved over time- our old install process REALLY was horrible but it has gotten much simpler - relatively speaking).

Hope this helps.

Kirk

0 Kudos
DDard1
Beginner

that was very helpful thank you!

0 Kudos
DDard1
Beginner