Embedded Intel Atom® Processors
Technological Conversations about Intel Atom® Hardware, Software, Firmware, Graphics
1149 Discussions

Is Atom E3800 compatible with DDR3L chips with 8Gbit density?

TKuhn
Novice

Page 279 of the Atom E3800 datasheet explicitly states support for "Standard 1Gb, 2Gb and 4Gb [DDR3L memory] technologies and addressing"

I'm designing a board that uses an E3825 (only supports single channel DDR3), with memory down, and want 4GB of RAM. I'd like to use as few DDR3 chips as possible, and thus would like to use four 8Gbit chips (like the Micron MT41K512M16, which is 64Meg x 16 x 8 banks ). However, the E3800 datasheet (p.279) shows instead to use eight 4Gbit chips to achieve 4GBytes of RAM. Looking at the pinout of the RAM chips, I don't see why using 8Gbit parts would be a problem. However, I'm new to designing with DDR3 memory, and am just not sure if there would be a problem

I searched for an answer to this on the forum before posting, apologies if this is a repeat question.

Also, apologies for newbie-DDR3-designer question.

Thanks for any insight!

Ted

0 Kudos
1 Solution
CarlosAM_INTEL

Hello Ted,

Thanks for your reply.

The information that may help you is stated in section 12.2.2 Rules for Populating SO-DIMM Slots, on pages 267, 268, 269 of the http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/secure/embedded/nda/products/bay-trail/atom-e3800-eds.html Bay Trail-I SoC External Design Specification (EDS) document # 557519.

Please let us know if this information is useful to you.

Best Regards,

Carlos A.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello Ted Kuhn,

Welcome back to the Intel® Embedded Community.

We're working on getting an answer to your question. Have a great day and we'll be talking with you soon!

Regards.

Leon

0 Kudos
CarlosAM_INTEL

Hello Ted,

Thank you for contacting Intel Embedded Community.