cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

X25-M, first time SSD user, help with basics?

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Hello. I picked up a few Intel X25-M 80GB SSDs to upgrade some old XPs, but this is my first time using/installing an SSD, and I've got some noob questions. With this being a not-so-current model SSD, and conflicting info available on the web, I hope I can rely on someone's experience/expertise here.

I've read that you're supposed to use AHCI with SSDs. Unfortunately, the computers I'll be installing these in (a Toshiba Satellite and two Dell Inspiron desktops that will run Win7/8, and an older self-built XP box) do not have AHCI support in their BIOS. How big a problem is the lack of AHCI, and what is the recommended workaround? Is it just a matter of performance (to enable NCQ), or something more fundamental? I'll be starting with clean Windows installs, not migrating, and want to know what to do/expect before starting.

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3

UHans
Contributor

The drives will take a performance (and possibly endurance) hit when AHCI and TRIM is not available, but they will still be vastly faster than spinning drives and should last long enough. But we are talking older machines anyway, so I guess absolute top utilization of the drives is not the priority. I have run X25-Ms in non AHCI/TRIM-supporting computers for more than a year without problems.

What you can and should do is to make sure the partition is properly aligned on the drives (only applies for Windows XP. Vista and up has SSD-friendly default partition alignment). More info on that here:

Note that, depending on the controller type and bios limitations, you may not be able to manually TRIM the drives using the Intel SSD toolbox. But don't worry too much about it if you can't, they will chug along at a fair pace regardless.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III