Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14539 Discussions

How much math coprocessor is freed up on an i7 4790 when a video card is added to a system?

SGilm
Novice

Hi Intel - I am a system admin for UCI Extension - I also build systems using your i7 chip lately the 4790K - very nice chip !

I read an article a month ago that stated the Intel 4790 and other newer chips added the graphic processing to the onboard chip architecture. However in my student lab I need the i7 to focus on math coprocessing since the programs students learn are not graphic intense but rather program computation intense. Math coprocessing intense. I read that even though the i7 4790 (in an HP slim line desktop PC) is very fast if one added a video card to the system it would free up some of the math coprocessing since the memory space addressed would not be partially used by the graphic processing on the Intel chip. The math coprocessor would be freed up a bit since the NVidia memory and processing would not be using memory space the Intel math coprocessor uses as well. Could you please help me understand this better? I plan on adding a video card to the i7 system for these reasons,

Thanks !

0 Kudos
1 Solution
SGilm
Novice

PS - I wanted to add for the benefit of those reading these posts about the newer Intel processors the finer details that the Intel support person passed on to me - I've also read more on the subject and have this ...