Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14539 Discussions

980X + 1600Mhz Ram = VOIDED WARRANTY!!

idata
Employee

Hello, I'm new to this forum but not new to Intel. I've purchased only Intel processors in all my systems and own 300 shares of stock (Not a lot I know). Last year I built a system with a 980X, Asus P6T7 WS SuperComputer board, 12GB of Corsair Dominator DD3(1600Mhz), and 2 GTX480 Hydrocools. Also spent another $900 on the cooling for the system. A few weeks ago my computer just stopped turning on. At first I thought there is no way it could be my $1100 Processor; must be the Motherboard.

Being a computer engineer I did all the mundane testing, took the board out and tested on anti-static surface, tried each ram stick individually, tested each video card and one i had laying around. Nothing.... So I contacted Asus and they were quick to process an RMA and take a look at the board. The got it and tested it for 4 days and called me each day to update me. There were no problems at all with the board. Asus decided to still give me the newer revision of the board and I recieved it yesterday. Put it all together and still the same problem.

I called Intel today and got a guy that slipped up and even told me "Yes" when I asked, "So what you're telling me is Intel will find any way to not process a warranty return for a loyal customer?"

Basically he stated that this Enthusiast processor is only covered by warranty when it is in a system with cheap low performance parts. My Ram and my water cooling void the warranty. They sell a board that supports 1600mhz ram, I dont understand why they would not support it on an ENTHUSIAST processor.

My real question here is, does anyone know who I can contact with Intel to possibly restore my faith in the company? AMD's Bulldozer isn't looking too bad right now.

7 Replies
RGiff
Honored Contributor I