Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14550 Discussions

Do I believe Intel CPU ID utility or do I believe BIOS?

idata
Employee

I'm confusedbecause the BIOS on my recently acquired refurbished Dell laptop indicates it contains a Core 2 Duo, but utilities such as the Intel Processor ID Utility and CPU-Z indicate a Pentium T3200 chip. Which to believe, and why do they differ?(The Dell Service tag indicates this laptop originally had a Core 2 Duo T7250 processor, but I suspect the refurbisher substituted an inferior processor.) Anybody have a definitive answer? Of course, the refurbisher says the BIOS is correct. I am not tech savvy enough to remove the motherboard and visually inspect the processor. Thank you.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
John_S_Intel
Employee

If there is a difference between what the BIOS reports and what Intel® Processor Identification Utility is reporting, then more often than not, the Intel Processor Identification Utility is right and the BIOS didn't load something correctly. However, the only way to get to the right answer is to get some more information to include things like screenshots of the processor identification utility or CPU-Z*, the Family/Model/Stepping info, and a description of the processor information from the BIOS.

The Core2 Duo T7250 is 2.0GHz/800MHz FSB with 2 cores, 2MB L2 Cache, and VT Capable (http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=31728 http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=31728)

The Pentium T3200 is 2.0GHz/667MHz FSB with 2 cores, 1MB L2 Cache, no VT (http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=37160 http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=37160)

John S.

Intel Customer Support

*Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.
0 Kudos
idata
Employee

Thank you, John, for helping me out. It's still a contradiction.