Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7365 Discussions

is there an Intel proset API/SDK ?

idata
Employee

Hi,

I am a software engineer for a security company and I've been tasked with creating a wiFi manager that will work with the intel proset family of WiFi connection managers or at least majority of the new versions. Specifically a group policy will be pushed down by an admin to only allow connection to a specific lists of SSIDs. The software I am working on will enforce this on each client machine and disconnects any SSIDs that the user connects to that is not in the allowed list. Currently I have this working on the windows default WLAN autoconfig/WZC but if the machine has the Intel Proset connection manager running then my software cannot do its enforcement.

Question:

- is there an SDK/Api/command line/registry key to allow our software to work with the Intel Proset connection manager. e.g. allow our software to tell the Intel Proset to disconnect the currect connection ?

thank you

van
0 Kudos
8 Replies
idata
Employee

Basically the problem is my software disconnects a connected SSID via windows WLAN api but the intel proset software reconnects the ssid and then my software disconnect and intel proset connects etc into an infinite loop. I just need some help in making the intel proset software play nicely with my software. All i need is for a way to help my software tell the intel proset manager to say "its okay to disconnect that ssid and wait for the user to make another connection"

0 Kudos
RKell3
New Contributor I

Van,

Just some thoughts...

Can't you remove the Intel ProSet wireles and let Windows Manage the connection?

http://en.community.dell.com/wikis/networking_internet_wireless/how-to-start-wireless-zero-configuration-using-windows-vista.aspx How to start Wireless Zero Configuration using Vista/Windows 7