Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14539 Discussions

i-core Laptop Processors

idata
Employee

I'm looking to buy a laptop based on i-core processor. I am a newbie to searching for a laptop this way. I've done some comparisons but am a little confused looking at "Clock Speeds" and "Turbo" and "Hyperthreading". Looking at i7-640M clock speed at 2.80 Ghz with 3.46 Ghz Turbo and 4MB cache. Trying to compare it with the i5-580M (2.66 Ghz clock, 3.33 Ghz turbo, 3MB cache) and i5-560M (2.66 Ghz clock, 3.33 Ghz turbo, 3MB cache). Clock speed, Turbo, etc., and noticing the Ghz are not that much different. Moreover, I'm seeing that the 2nd gen numbers, although 4 core and 8 threads (depending on the model) are often less Ghz. I know the threads affect the performance and speed. Now my issue is MONEY. The way I work is heavy multitasking with lots of windows open and appliacations. I do some lightweight video editing, medium photoediting, and relatively heavy audio editing and recording. My laptop will have to be a powerhouse. I also, or course do a lot of office like applications. Basically, I run Office Suite, Adobe Suite, SoundForge, SAW, CD Architech... I will likely have lots of IE-8 windowns open for researching and Acrobat, Excel, and Word ... generally open at the same time. Now when I am working on the other programs, I generally ONLY have DreamWeaver, Premier or one of the Audio applications open alone. I may open Photoshop quickly to fix a logo or something ... I do have a desktop but generally work on the laptop. It has to be lightweight portable and good battery life. So ... I am looking at i7-740, i5-560M or up and now 2nd generation i7-2640 ... I NEED EXPERT HELP TO WADE THROUGH what is best for my needs. Please, if anyone has ideas ... I'd appreciate it.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
idata
Employee