Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20603 Discussions

Raid 1 - non member after blue screen no boot windows 7 - voice of the customer

PTayl
Beginner

Hello:

I am a professional accountant (at least I try to be in this strenuous world focused mainly on immediate good financial results).

I have a recent PC board OEM MSI MS-7616 with i5-750 P55 chipset (1 year old).

It had 2 arrays Raid 1 (4 drives) the 1st nearly exclusively for the OS MS Win7-64 (300GB), the 2nd for all data (1000GB). Drives are WD drives (ordinary drives, not built for servers or Raid).

All is saved to a Linux home NAS (Synology 2009+II in Raid1).

I thougth it was reliable. It was, but not as I expected.

I go to a client at lunch, switch off Windows and get the normal black screen (but no A/C current power off). Back at my home/office at four, "blue screen" because Windows wants to protect my system at boot! No one was at the office in between (normally!). Bios was authorising wake up on USB (KB ou mouse).

I try to recover the system with WinRe DVD. In a hurry, I don't pay attention to the bios message which shows 4 non-member disks to my subconscient mind. Before using it and accepting WinRE repair, I could still see the OS Windows partition on drive 1 & 2 in WinRE, described as faulty.

After, at second run of WinRE, it is all gone (no more windows partition at all!).

In WinRE console mode, I find 4 main disks instead of 2.

I go in BIOS and have to correct disk access to SATA! (It was something else but not IDE, nor SATA).

Using "testdisk" (a useful hardrive utility from a French guy), both file tables of main OS partition on volume zero are too damaged (still, hard drives 1 and 2 are still visible as Volume 0). Irrecoverable for TestDisk or anything I know.

Drive 3 and 4 have become non-Raid members. But all user data is intact.

I decide to rebuild a new Win7-64 on existing volume 0. It works.