Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20600 Discussions

Intel HD - Office 2016 - 4K Resolution

NTong1
Beginner

Hi, I've been troubleshooting a problem for the past 6 months with Office 2016 and running a 4K resolution.

I have narrowed down to a combination of whats in the title. We recently upgraded a few machines to 4K Screens and started getting problems within Outlook and Excel 2016.

When maximized, Outlook/Excel wouldnt always refresh properly, and leave white boxes on the screen. Sometimes you can just put the program into a window, then re-maximize and it would sort itself out. Other times you need to close/open the program.

Either way, it would happen at least once an hour. But only with 4K screens. The problem was that irritating that I have had to roll back to HD resolution monitors.

We had 4 machines with 4K screens, and all of them would have this problem. They were all various Dell Optiplex models with Intel display adapters.

I tried upgrading one of them to an Nvidia Quadro P400, and the problem went away. So I'm thinking its a problem with combination of Intel HD vid, Office 2016 and 4k resolution.

Has anyone else had this issue?

(More information here: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/msoffice/forum/msoffice_outlook-mso_win10/4k-touchscreen-issue-rectangular-patches-covering/72307ca0-5b2f-430a-8a4a-4cf54ad36727 4K display resolution issue: rectangular patches covering - Microsoft Community )

Thanks,

Nathan

0 Kudos
9 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello dekkar,

Thank you for contacting Intel Communities.

I understand you are having issues with 4K resolution when running Office 2016 in a maximized windows. Can you please provide the following information to better assist you?

/thread/77761 Default level information for reporting Graphics issues and the system reports outlined at the bottom of the post.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,

Juan V.
0 Kudos
NTong1