Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4862 Discussions

Intel I210-T1 driver issue

idata
Employee

Hi,

i am an IT student at a german university. Currently i am working on my bachelor´s thesis about the PTP protocol. For this reason i got a Intel network adapter I210-T1, which has support for the IEEE 1588 (=PTP) protocol.

On Linux Ubuntu works everything pretty fine. The card is working as expected. The first time i wanted to use it on Windows, my system frezzed. And still after rebooting the OS, the network card can not be used.

First of all my HW specifications:

- MB: Asus P7H55-M Pro

- CPU: Intel Core I5 650 @ 3.20GHz

- RAM: 16.0GB DDR3

- Graphic: Intel HD Graphics

- Storage: 223GB OCZ-VERTEX3 (SSD)

The SW specifications for Linux (everything is fine here):

- Driver: igb-5.3.5.4

- Other: linuxptp package

And for Windows (with the issue):

- Driver: Intel Network Adapter Driver for Windows 7 (Version 21.1, 64-bit)

Problem:

The main problem in Windows is located in the device manager. Here it says on my adapter, that the error code 31 appeared. See the attachment. This means, that i absolutely can not use the card. The first time after installing the card, Windows tried to search and install the driver by itself. Then, as i said, the whole system frezzed. I had to power it off with the switch. After rebooting Windows, it said, that it was not able to install the driver. I tried to do that manually with the driver of the support website, but with no success. Only the error code 31 appears.

What i already have done:

- Let Windows try to install the driver by itself -> No success

- Install driver manually -> No success

- Make sure Windows Update is up to date -> No success

- Reinstall and/or update the asus driver for the motherboard (also the chipset driver etc...) -> No success

- Update BIOS to newest version -> No success

- Testing the card on an other pc -> Success