Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Buidling up a stable Indoor Drone with Real Sense and Pixhawk

GBudd1
Beginner

Hey there,

first of all let me introduce myself and let me explain what I am up to. My Name is Günter Budde from Germany and I am a Student from the RWTH-University in Aachen. At the Moment I am doing some research for using Drones as a carriage for sensor Technology (mostly based on ROS). Because of the field application the drone has to be able to stay at the point where I want to (like a Position hold function indoors with out the help of GPS). And in more advance the drone should be able to reconize obstacles and help the user to avoid crashes by flying not against them or be able to fly by there own.

How can I implement this function with the Intel Sense Technology? Which parts I do Need?

My first Impression for a Setup could be look like this:

-As a flight Controller I like to use a Pixhawk 2.4.6.--> Here I am asking my self is there a benefit if I am using a Pixhawk 2.1 Pro Version in combination with Intel Edison? Is there even a possibility to use only the Pixhawk 2.1 Pro with Edison with the Vision Accessory Kit?

-Intel Aero Vision Accessory Kit to give the drone some eyes :-)

-For the camera usage and as a Computer System I like to use the Intel Aero Board (Is there a possibility to use ROS on the Aero board to extend the usage of sensors?)

-Are there any possibility to extend the Interfaces like Ethernet and USB?

Thanks for supporting me!

Best Regards Günter

0 Kudos
5 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

Here is a page with a link to a PDF guide for connecting Pixhawk to an Aero board.

These pages on using ROS with Aero may also be of use to you.

https://github.com/intel-aero/meta-intel-aero/wiki/Meta-ROS Meta ROS · intel-aero/meta-intel-aero Wiki · GitHub