Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14536 Discussions

Decisions for Computational Chemistry

idata
Employee

Hello everyone,

I am an undergraduate student learning computational chemistry techniques. In order to continue my projects, I need to build a machine dedicated to my calculations.

The programs that I use to carry out these calculatoins (AMPAC and Gaussian 09) are very resource heavy (especially G09) and I would benefit a lot from having a very high end machine.

I am wondering whether I should build a machine that utilizes two Xeon processors, which would allow me a max of 144 GB of memory down the road, or whether a machine that runs one Core-i7 six-core processor with 48 GB would be more advisable. Do any Core-i7/motherboard combinations allow for something like 64 GB of memory?

Thanks,

RVM

0 Kudos
9 Replies
RGiff
Honored Contributor I

Contact Intel sales about their Workstations , They have machines ready built for just what you need . If not look at the Dell workstations.

0 Kudos
idata
Employee

Hi Robert. Fantastic name! (It is my name too)

This does not suit me.

I have a limited budget due to grants limitations, and the cost of a dell workstation almost completely finishes off what I have left in my grant. Other sources of funding are available of course, but I do not want to take up a part of someone's budget if there is the alternative that another machine could do the job.

Besides which, the memory included in Dell's workstations is 12 GB -- not nearly enough to do the kinds of calculations I do.

Xeon vs Core i7?

RVM

0 Kudos
DSilv11
Valued Contributor III

Xeon if you want the max.

The i7 will do for most jobs, but if you get into some real heavy computational work, cores count.

Dual Xeon hyperthreaded 6 cores processors will get you more raw power than your get from any single processor system.

(at least till Moore's law kicks in and another generation of processors hit the market.) .