Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7366 Discussions

AC-3160 can't connect to 5GHz

HThro
Beginner

First off... Noob here and I will explain my problem to the best of MY ability which isn't anything to brag about. Currently located in Panama, where internet speeds are "tough". I have a dish and signed up for 4 Mbps... Prior to this trip, I purchased a Asus RT-N66U router for my use while in this country. I hired someone to put the tomato firmware on it. I signed up for Unlocator services so I could watch U.S TV while here. I updated the router to the proper DNS numbers. Arrived in Panama, hooked it all up... internet use sucked. I was on the 2.4 GHz band where I was lucky if I saw 2 Mbps. I changed to the 5.0 band and wow, what a difference... download speeds were actually a little above 4 Mbps. This 5.0 supply suited my needs perfectly. Speaking of needs, my wife and I both have laptops, I have an IPAD and I have a ASUS Chromebox. We also have cell phones. My wife's laptop does not support 5.0 so her's doesn't matter. The Chromebox and the IPAD are both connected to 5.0 and have had no issues, they work great. My laptop... an ASUS with an Intel Dual Band wireless AC-3160 network adapter. Initially, my laptop connected to the 5.0. In the last week it has stopped showing up on the list of available connection points. Periodically it does show up as an option, I try to connect to it but no go....it doesn't connect and then it disappears. When I reboot the laptop or the router, it shows but then disappears... I can't figure out why the IPAD and the chromebox have no issues but my laptop does.... any suggestions?

0 Kudos
2 Replies
idata
Employee

Hello Maynard65,

We understand you're having issues detecting and connecting to your 5GHz network band.

In order to better assist you, we would like to have some more information: