Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20628 Discussions

Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset's driver vanishing from my computer

CRibe2
Beginner

Hey guys. I'm really sorry if I'm doing something wrong, but this is my first time in the community and I'm not sure I understand where everything goes quite yet.

Anyway, here's my problem: I used to play a game called GunZ Online on my desktop back in the day and decided to revisit it on my VAIO laptop. Unfortunately, the graphics card wasn't able to run the game too well, so I kept trying to find ways to force it a bit and make it run smoother, even if just by a little. Eventually I came across some modified drivers (called Sigma and Alpha) and decided to give it a try. Sigma didn't work for my computer, but after following the instructions given by the website providing them, Alpha did work.

Unfortunately, again, there were no noticeable gains in performance and the newly installed modded driver was giving me issues with other programs, such as Photoshop and Sony Vegas. I use those a lot for some projects I do for fun/learning, so it seemed silly to continue using "Alpha". I uninstalled it following the provider's instructions and proceeded to install Intel's original driver back to my computer (from the official site and everything).