Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20598 Discussions

Updating display driver breaks texture system.

AStar8
Beginner

Hello! I'm a games developer and developing a new game with Unity. As part of the game we have developed a system which generates horses from a few textures in many different ways.

A couple of weeks back a few testers reported that they were experiencing some weird looking textures being created by the system. Unable to find or even recreate the bug, I eventually bought the exact model of laptop they use (a Lenovo G50 with Intel HD 5500 graphics)

Today the laptop has arrived - I turned it on, checked the dxdiag information and believe the default driver installed was one from 2015. Ran the game, and everything ran perfectly, unexpected as I bought this laptop just to recreate the bug.

However I then updated the driver to the latest version available (from November last year). And now the textures look completely bizarre when being created. There is no transparency maintained between the textures and coloring effects do not work properly.

On the left in the image below is how this one horse looked before updating the display drivers, on the right is how it looks after updating the display drivers.

All that is being done to create the final texture is:

- Create a render texture (Final Result Texture)

- For each input bitmap (all 512x512 fairly uninteresting bitmap)

A) If necessary for this part, invert any of the RGBA channels specified

B) Apply contrast to the output of A

C) Apply hue and lightness changes to output of B

D) Import the alpha channel from the original bitmap to the output of C

E) Blit D to the final result texture

Any ideas what is going on here? Should I just tell my users to rollback to a much earlier version of the driver?

I should add that the system works fine on every other thing its been tested on, Android, Apple, Nvidia, ATI etc

0 Kudos