Items with no label
3335 Discussions

Questions about Intel RealSense Euclid

PCaba
Beginner

Hello! I'm a software developer and robot maker, I think Euclid is a powerfull system and I've some quetions about it.

1) Euclid uses Ubuntu and ROS to develop applcation, ok, are there plans of a .NET framework? My favorite language is Visual C# .

2) With Euclid is possible the face recognition?

3) And the voice recognition (Euclid has a microphone)?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Amit_M_Intel
Employee

Hi,

in addition to what MartyG wrote:

1) Euclid uses Ubuntu and ROS to develop applcation, ok, are there plans of a .NET framework? My favorite language is Visual C# .

Not at the moment.

Euclid is an open system. it comes with an evaluation version of the RealSense person MW which has Person Recognition feature. see here - https://software.intel.com/sites/products/realsense/person/developer_guide.html# 3.2.3_Person_Recognition Intel® RealSense™ for Linux - Person Library: Developer's Guide

Euclid has 3 microphones built (2 working simultaneous in order to run background noise reduction - not included on Euclid).

hope that help

Amit Moran

Intel

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

I carefully went through the lists of features on the Intel store listing for the Euclid. It seems to be primarily focused on robotics, with some Person Tracking (likely for the purposes of avoidance).

I did not see face recognition listed. However, as ROS supports face recognition, I would think the feature is provided that way.

I also did not see a built-in microphone officially listed. However, various preview articles on the internet state that it has a mic and speakers.

As for future .NET support for Euclid, I have no knowledge of that. Given Euclid's robotics specialization though, I suspect it won't happen because the majority of users who would use a Euclid for their project are probably comfortable with ROS and Linux.