Items with no label
3335 Discussions

What exactly is the Low Level API in librealsense?

smcdo5
Beginner

I'm just getting started here and wanted to assess my options. I'm not using the SDK, I'm using librealsense (linux). I've got everything setup fine, but in going through the documentation I found this article:

https://github.com/IntelRealSense/librealsense/blob/master/doc/api_arch.md librealsense/api_arch.md at master · IntelRealSense/librealsense · GitHub

My understanding of that is rs2::pipeline is always the high level API. What classes are involved in the low-level API?

None of the examples use the low level API, and I'm not asking for a full-blown example. Being new to the API in general, I'm just wondering what classes are involved in wielding the low level API

Thanks for any suggestions!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MartyG
Honored Contributor III

About 30 years ago, low level development was known by some as 'hitting the metal' because of accessing hardware components directly with very hard to understand programming such as binary numbers, instead of writing scripts with English-like instructions (which is called high level programming).

Back then, the major benefit of low level development was the speed that code ran at compared to English-instruction languages that acted as an intermediary between the user and the hardware that had the side effect of slowing down the processing of tasks.

These days though with super fast hardware, there is little advantage in hitting the metal for most types of applications. A high level interface is likely to meet your needs.

The main benefit of low level would likely be if you wanted to communicate with external sensors that may not have connection instructions for them defined in the high level Librealsense API.

smcdo5
Beginner

Hehehe. So I guess we'll call that the ultra low level interface. I'm definitely not game for that, I care not to learn how to process USB packets / send data back and forth.